Twice Cooked Potato and Carrot Latkes

I hope that everyone is having a great holiday season at the moment! I had a great day yesterday seeing both sides of my family and indulging in more food than I thought possible for me. Since it is the holidays, every bit of the internet is covered with holiday themed food and traditions. I have previously made an attempt at making a potato pancake style dish but was not happy with the consistency at all. I have had some time to think about it and have made something I am 100% happy to present.

Here I have my Twice Cooked Potato and Carrot Latkes. A twist on the traditional Latkes and accompanied with one of my favourite dips Tzatziki. I made my mixture and lightly pan fried them to give them their crispy outside and to seal everything in . I then baked them to finish off the middle.

I wanted to incorporate more vegetables into this dish so I chose to mix through some carrot in with my potatoes! Also, serving these up with Tzatziki gives some extra freshness from the cucumbers. I also just love yoghurt so any excuse to put it in my cooking and I will use it.

This dish is great as a lunchtime recipe or even as a side dish with dinner to add some pizzazz to your potatoes!

Twice Cooked Potato and Carrot Latkes (yields 8)

What you’re going to need

3 medium potatoes, peeled and grated

1 carrot, peeled and grated

1 egg

1 tablespoon flour

1 tablespoon olive oil

salt and/or pepper to season

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 140 degrees Celcius.
  2. After you have grated your potato and carrot with your preferred method, squeeze the mixture with your hands or with a tea towel and drain out as much of the liquid as possible.
  3. With your drained mixture, place in a bowl with the egg and sifted flour. Mix through with a fork and ensure egg has coated the potato mixture.  Season mixture here if you like.
  4. In a non stick fry pan, heat up the olive oil on a medium to high heat. Once hot, spoon even amounts of the mixture into the pan and lightly flatten with the spatula  (I did mine in two batches). Cook on one side for 2-3 minutes.
  5. Once you can glide your spatula easily underneath, flip over to crisp up the other side. After 2 minutes place on a wire rack and tray that will fit in the oven.
  6. Place the tray in the oven. Whilst in the oven cook the second batch in the fry pan (you do not need to add any more oil).
  7. Once the fry pan batch is done, place the oven batch on some paper towel and then cook the second batch in the oven. (leave in the oven for about 5 minutes)
  8. Serve immediately whilst hot with Tzatziki or any sauce of your choosing!

IMG_8644

Share your thoughts

