Quinoa Stuffed Mushrooms

So one of the first times I had stuffed mushrooms was at one of my favourite restaurants in Sydney. They were delicious but not something that you could eat on a regular basis. These ones I’ve whipped up are healthy enough that you can eat a heap in one sitting and not feel a) sick b) guilty and c) not pay the absurd price that I payed for the restaurant ones… A friend of mine gave me the idea of quinoa stuffed mushrooms! I had a play around with things I had in both my garden and the pantry to get some good flavour combinations going! Here’s what I came up with

Quinoa Stuffed Mushrooms

What you’re going to need 

6 cup mushrooms (the medium sized ones)

1/4 cup quinoa, cooked as per packet instructions

25 grams feta cheese (adjust this as much as you like!)***

2 teaspoons pine nuts

small handful basil, roughly chopped

salt and pepper to season

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees Celcius
  2. Get quinoa cooking so you can do all your other prep at the same time.
  3. Peel and remove stalk from mushrooms.
  4. In a small bowl, combine the pine nuts, basil and feta. Once quinoa is cooked, mix through with the other ingredients. Season if required.
  5. On a lined baking tray, place the mushrooms evenly spaced apart. Spoon some of the quinoa mixture into the centre of each mushroom (they can be overfilled)
  6. Bake for about 20 minutes or until the mushrooms are baked to your liking.
  7. Serve and eat straight away!

12048526_10153167076334849_1160982939_n


*** Feel free to omit the cheese for a dairy free and vegan friendly option. However, to alleviate the mixture being dry, I would suggest mixing through some olive oil for both moisture and another element of flavour!

Tell me what you think

