Dairy Free Chocolate Brownies

I’m sure every budding chef or foodie has a dish that they can never get quite right no matter how many times they try. For me, that is brownies. I have tried an endless stack of recipes and I’ve never been truly satisfied with them until today! I also wanted to keep them dairy free so that my body didn’t freak out when I consumed almost the whole batch in one sitting…These ones are also vegan for two reasons: 1. Running out of eggs can be the be all and end all for some recipes…until today and 2. If you haven’t had your daily dose of fruit, the bananas work as a great way of incorporating them into your day. Normally, I do extensive research to find a recipe to inspire me (and also to make sure I get the right balance of wet and dry ingredients). However, today, I made this one up completely from scratch!

Dairy Free Chocolate Brownies

What you’re going to need

1/2 cup flour

1/4 cup cacao powder

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup olive spread/dairy free spread

2 bananas, pureed

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

100 grams 70% dark chocolate, roughly chopped (save a bit extra for drizzle)

Method

1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees Celcius. Grease and line a square tin with baking paper.

2.Using a pulse blender/stick blender, combine the bananas, vanilla and sugar until smooth.

3. Sift the flour, cacao powder and baking powder in a medium bowl.

4. Mix the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients until a reasonably thick batter forms. Mix in the dark chocolate.

5. Pour mixture into tin and spread evenly. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes or until a skewer comes out with a little bit of chocolate still on it. Allow to cool in tin for 5 minutes then transfer to a cooling rack.

Optional steps: Chocolate Drizzle

1. To melt the chocolate, place a bowl with the chocolate over a pot of boiled water. The steam from the water will begin to melt the chocolate. Continue to stir until the chocolate is completely liquified.

2. I have a plastic syringe which I use for my piping, but you can use a small plastic bag if you don’t have a syringe. Place the chocolate inside the bag and make a very small cut off the corner of the bag. Then pipe away!

Aside: Yes, I like to play with my food and so I had lots of fun with the leftover chocolate drizzle!

2 thoughts on “Dairy Free Chocolate Brownies

Tell me what you think

