Banana Based Smoothie Bowls

I know this is not a new revelation but it is in my household. Breakfast is now my favourite meal of the day because I just let all my creative juices fly. There are a zillion and one recipes for smoothie bowls but if you’re stuck on ideas here is one that I whipped up the other morning before work! This is budget friendly and something that everyone can whip up at home with these ingredients or any fruits that you desire! Always make sure you shop around for your food and remember to buy in bulk where possible.

What you’re going to need

Smoothie component

2 frozen bananas (rookie mistake I made the first time was not pre-cutting the banana before freezing so make sure you do that! Cut your banana into about 5-6 chunks about the size of ice cubes)

1/2 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen)

1 tablespoon cacao powder

1 tablespoon vanilla protein powder

pinch cinnamon

1-2 tablespoons soy milk (or any milk really but not full cream because it will be super rich)

Toppings

3-4 tablespoons granola (recipe for the one I made is a few posts back)

1 tablespoon coconut

handful walnuts (or any nut of your choosing)

Method

1. Use a food processor (not a blender, I tried this and the banana chucks were just spinning around and around) and add all of your ingredients. Process until a smooth consistency is achieved. Run a spoon through the mixture to check there are no chunks left.

2. Pour into a bowl and add your toppings!

I love this recipe and method of makings smoothies because you don’t need to add ice or anything to keep it chilled. Also it makes breakfast so much more beautiful and exciting! So here are pictures of bowls I’ve made so far! There are many more to come but just a preview of my creations so far.

One thought on “Banana Based Smoothie Bowls

Share your thoughts

