Zucchini and Carrot Pasta with Avocado, Basil and Tahini Dressing

Bit of a mouthful of a name but there are just so many good things in this dish that I had to tell you about them straight away! Because I am a budget foodie and also because most of the food at uni is either unhealthy or healthy and overpriced, I always bring packed lunch. I decided to invest in a julienne peeler as I had been using a grater previously. The pasta comes out perfectly every time and the chance of slicing your hand open is drastically reduced. I wanted to try a different dressing this time for my pasta, something with a bit more depth and bit more of a sauce consistency than a dressing. I did some reading to source out the types of ingredients people were using. I took the best bits of different ones and made my own! I don’t normally measure when I cook but I’ve started now so that other people can make my creations too!

Zucchini and Carrot Pasta with Avocado, Basil and Tahini Dressing

What you’re going to need

Pasta

1 zucchini, julienne peeled (or grated)

1/2 carrot, julienne peeled (or grated)

handful cherry tomatoes, sliced in half

Dressing

1/2 avocado

10 basil leaves

1/2 clove garlic, grated (I used a Microplane but you could just use a garlic crusher here)

1 teaspoon tahini

1/2 teaspoon lemon juice (to taste)

2 tablespoons olive oil

pinch salt

Method

1. To prepare the dressing, I used a pulse blender (but any kind of food processor will suffice). Add all of the ingredients into the blender and blend until a smooth consistency (taste as you go to see if you want to add more lemon or salt)

2. Julienne peel (if you haven’t already) your zucchini and carrot and mix together. Add the tomatoes. Put a dollop of the dressing on the top and mix through with a set of tongs.

IMG_6007

Share your thoughts

