“Reese’s” Peanut Butter Cups

So basically my satay obsession also means I’ll pretty much eat peanut butter with anything and everything. So, this leads me to tonight’s dessert creation ~ a recreation of the Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. However, these bad boys are raw, vegan and sugar free (win!). Obviously with anything food, you should always be sure to eat things in moderation, even though it is very difficult with these as they are highly addictive!!! But being Easter and all, I felt I could treat myself to one…maybe two…ooo and there goes the third one. I can’t take credit for this recipe, it was the lovely Sarah Wilson (https://iquitsugar.com/yet again who brought me the inspiration I needed. However, I did my usual routine and substituted half the ingredients either because a) I don’t like them or b) I don’t have them.

Raw and Vegan Peanut Butter Cups

What you’re going to need

1/2 cup Nuttelex Olive Spread (melted)***

1/2 cup cacao powder

2 tablespoons maple syrup

2 tablespoons soy milk

1/2 cup peanut butter

generous pinch sea salt

12 small patty pans

Method

1. Mix up your cacao and melted olive spread in a bowl until combined (do not whisk, I tried this and the mix got all caught up in it and it was so messy, so please use a wooden spoon!)

2. Add the maple syrup and soy milk. Stir in with the cacao mix until combined and smooth. (mine turned out semi runny so it won’t pour so you will need a small spoon for the next part)

3. In each of your patty pans spoon a generous portion of the cacao mix. Pop these in the freezer for about 5 minutes (they will still be softish when they come out)

4. Melt your peanut butter in the microwave for 20 seconds or until in a thick liquid form. Pour into each patty pan until the cacao layer is covered (I made my peanut layer quite thick just because I love the stuff). Sprinkle with sea salt.

5. Pop back in the freezer for about 20 minutes or so. Then take them out of the paper and devour!

image2 (1)


*** Nuttelex is an Australian owned and made product which is probably not available outside of Oz. The olive spread I used is dairy free and actually has less fat and calories than coconut oil (I was quite surprised actually). The reason I chose to use this as opposed to coconut oil is mainly for the taste factor (these have no taste of coconut at all) and also because of the price of high quality, unrefined coconut oil. I do enjoy coconut and have nothing against it but it is nice to have a raw dessert that doesn’t taste like coconut! I am planning on using olive spread as my substitute for all recipes that include coconut oil.  I have done extensive research to try find a substitute for coconut oil and this has been the best one so far. 

Share your thoughts

