Zucchini Pasta with Chimichurri Inspired Pesto

After months of trawling Instagram and admiring all of the incredible recipes for Zucchini Pasta, I dedicated my Monday afternoon to creating my own variation to share with you.

Raw Zucchini Pasta with Chimichurri Inspired Pesto

IMG_5816

I am very lucky in the fact that I still live at home with my parents and that they are willing to cook healthy meals for us every night of the week. An added bonus to this is that all the ingredients for this recipe I found readily available in my kitchen and garden. Zing!

So here is the rundown on what you’re going to need to create your marvellous masterpiece. Also take note that I only made this for myself so the portions are measured according to what I would eat, so serving size = 1 person.

1 whole zucchini, julienned (there are gizmos for this but I just used a grater)

Chimichurri 

Generous handful of basil

Generous handful of parsley

Generous handful of oregano

1 clove garlic

1 tablespoon red wine vinegar

3 tablespoons olive oil

Pinch of chilli powder (could also use chilli flakes)

Salt and cracked black pepper to season

Cherry tomatoes (optional)

Method

1. Grate your zucchini into long, thin noodley strips and put aside.

2. Prep your herbs ready to add to the pulse blender (remove all the stems)

3. Add all ingredients to a pulse blender and blend until desired consistency (I like my pesto quite chunky but still combined)

4. Toss through the pesto with your zucchini and serve up with cherry tomatoes!

image1

Tell me what you think

